Annual Dinner and Prize-Giving

BLS Awards Dinner 2016 by Christine Harper 2

Sponsored by Arigna  – enabling Education and Training for people with disabilities and learning difficulties.

We would like to thank our sponsors ‘Arigna’ for their support in making this very special evening – on Saturday 12th March 2016 at Loughshore Hotel, Carrickfergus – so enjoyable. The BLS Annual Dinner and Prize-Giving is an opportunity to acknowledge our wonderful volunteers in good company. Thanks also to our guests on the evening for their invaluable support to our group.

Recipients of the perpetual trophies:

Mary Popper Trophy – the Duffin-Murray Family.

Breakaway Adventure Award – Bill Foster.

Arigna Trophy – Education and Training – Colin De Fleury.

Bunting Trophy – Outstanding Contribution –  Anne Taylor.

Other awards:

BLS Volunteer Awards, presented by Anne Taylor.

RYA Sailability Volunteer & Achievement Awards, presented by Damien Bannon.

Millenium Young Volunteer Certificates, presented by Ann Blair.

Prizewinners enjoyed a celebratory informal photo with the Mayor of Carrickfergus who has always shown great support for our group.

Look out for us in the Carrick Times this week!


Anne Taylor Paul & Jeannie Bunting

Anne Taylor with Paul & Jeannie Bunting.

Geraldine Duggan w. Jim Hetherington standing in for Colin de Fleury

Geraldine Duggan with Jim Hetherington (standing in for Colin de Fleury).

Anne Taylor & Hannah Blair

Anne Taylor with Hannah Blair – Powerboat – BLS Volunteer Awards category.

Damien Bannon & Bisps

Damien Bannon with the Bisps – Family Category – RYA Sailability certificates.

Some BLS prizewinners with Mayor Councillor Billy Ashe of MEABC

Some of the prizewinners with Councillor Billy Ashe Mayor of Mid and East Antrim Borough.